CSIDB logo
Incident

Deloitte UK

Incident posture

Attack window
2024
Location
United Kingdom
Status
Unknown
CIA posture
Available to members
Updated
2026-09-01 12:06

Linked entities

Victim
Deloitte UK
Threat actors
0 actors
Sources
1 source

Timeline

Occurred
2024
Discovered
Pending
Disclosed
Pending
Resolved
Pending

Summary

In 2024, a ransomware group claimed to have stolen over 1TB of data from Deloitte UK.

Motives

Detailed motive labels are available to members.

0 motives

TTPs

Detailed technique labels are available to members.

1 technique

Description

In 2024, a ransomware group publicly claimed to have obtained more than one terabyte of data belonging to Deloitte UK, a major professional services and consulting firm. The claim, highlighted in a ransomware tracker compiled by Spin.AI and dated to 2022 in its source report but covering developments through 2024, listed the incident among the most impactful ransomware attacks of that year. The entry framed the breach as one that raised concerns about the security preparedness of major consulting firms, given Deloitte UK's role in providing advisory, audit, consulting, financial advisory, risk management, and tax services to a broad array of clients. The reported volume of data—over 1TB—suggested a significant exfiltration, although the source material does not specify the exact nature of the files involved or the timeline of the intrusion itself.

The method of attack, the specific ransomware variant deployed, and the identity of the threat actor are not detailed in the available reporting. The only factual specifics provided in the source are the target (Deloitte UK), the data volume allegedly obtained (over 1TB), and the general context that the incident was part of a broader pattern of high-impact ransomware events in 2024. No information is provided about the attack vector, whether the data was encrypted in addition to being exfiltrated, the duration of the incident before discovery, or the specific date on which the claim was made. The source likewise does not record whether Deloitte UK confirmed the breach, disputed the claim, or issued any public statement acknowledging the incident.

In terms of impact, the source material indicates only that the claim of a 1TB-plus data theft prompted concerns about the security posture of large consulting organizations. There is no detailed breakdown in the article of which business units, client engagements, or internal systems were affected, nor is there any confirmation regarding the categories of data—such as client records, internal communications, financial information, or employee data—that may have been included in the alleged exfiltration. No figures are provided for financial losses, regulatory penalties, or remediation costs specifically tied to the Deloitte UK incident, distinguishing it from the cost data cited in the same article for other 2024 attacks, such as the $2.457 billion expected cost of the Change Healthcare breach or the $370,000 ransom reportedly paid by AT&T.

Information regarding the response by Deloitte UK is likewise absent from the available source. There is no mention of internal investigations, engagement of external incident response firms, notifications to affected parties, communications with regulators such as the Information Commissioner's Office in the United Kingdom, or any operational disruptions to the firm's services. It is also not stated whether a ransom was demanded, whether any payment was made, or whether the threat actor followed through on any threat to publish or sell the stolen data. The absence of these details in the source material limits the narrative to what was directly reported: that a ransomware group publicly asserted possession of more than a terabyte of Deloitte UK data as one of the notable ransomware incidents of 2024.

Sources

Sources available to members: 1 source.

CSIDB